BOARDS

Product Backlog

Every Scrum Board has a Product Backlog (Scrum Backlog). It’s a page which shows you all Items within your Board. The Backlog column is a default one and it can't be deleted.

In case there are many Items, not all of them will be visible since loading too many Items at the same time can severely impact browser speed and responsiveness. In that case, there will be a Load More button so you can see all Items if you need to.

product backlog

Table view of the Product Backlog

VivifyScrum offers a table view of your Product Backlog. It is suitable for a clear overview of all Board Items. Each row represents one Item. Available columns are:

  • Title,
  • Type,
  • Performers,
  • Labels,
  • Location - Sprint column and a column within a Sprint Backlog,
  • Estimation,
  • Work log,
  • Relations,
  • Creation date,
  • Files,
  • Share option - copying of the Item code and copying of the Item link,
  • More Item actions - Delete, Clone, Move to the top of the column, Add to predefined Items, Move to another Board.

 

To change your Product Backlog appearance to table view click on the first icon in the row in the upper right corner of the screen.

Various actions are available directly in the table, such as editing the Item title, assigning performers, adding labels, moving Items to a different column, attaching files and more. Bulk Item actions are also available, just select the Items of your interest. A click on the Item opens the Item modal.

Table view of the Product Backlog

Adding Items

Adding Items to it is simple. Just click the + sign that appears at the top of the column when you hover over it. It adds an Item at the top of that column.

If you want to add an Item somewhere else in the column (e.g. in the bottom) you can do it by hovering over the bottom part of the card where you want it to be placed.

You can add as many Sprints as you want by clicking the + button after the last sprint column. Sprint columns can be renamed by clicking on the current name of a Sprint. With drag and drop you can reorder Sprint columns to manage your workflow. To organize Items in iterations (Sprints) just drag and drop them to the desired Sprint column.

There is a drop-down menu at the upper right corner of the column. The options in the drop-down menu are:

  • Delete Sprint
  • Insert predefined items
  • Start Sprint
  • Export Sprint

Sprint column menu

When you have everything set, choose which Sprint to start. Start a Sprint by opening the drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the Sprint column and choose ‘Start Sprint’. You’ll be asked to define sprint interval. In addition to this, you can write a Sprint Goal, but this is optional.

If you have more than one team working on a project, you'll probably need more than one Active Sprint on the Board. You can easily start multiple Active Sprints on your Board. All Active Sprints will be visible when you hover over the Sprint Backlog icon.

Multiple active Sprints

Starting a Sprint will redirect you to the Sprint Backlog page.

When there is an Active Sprint it will be clearly visible on the Product Backlog page, its title field will be green. By clicking on the drop-down menu of the Active Sprint you will be able to:

  • Open Sprint Backlog
  • Delete Sprint
  • Insert predefined items
  • Finish Sprint
  • Export Sprint

Active Sprint menu

Finished Sprints will also appear in your Scrum Backlog.

The button ‘Show/Hide Finished Sprints’ (in the upper right corner) gives you the opportunity to view or hide all finished sprints.

If your Scrum Backlog is cluttered and you can’t find the Item you are looking for, you can use Search or Filter options. Both the Search and the Filter option can be found in the upper right corner of the screen.

If you want to Export your Board, you can do this by clicking on the drop-down menu in the upper right corner.