You can open a Sprint Backlog when you have an active Sprint. There are two ways of opening it: from the sidebar or by clicking on the drop-down menu of the active Sprint column and choosing ‘Open Sprint Backlog’. If you have more than one active Sprint, it will be visible in the sidebar and on the Product Backlog (active Sprint columns will have green title fields).
Before you get down to work, you can define your Sprint Goal. You can find this option in the Sprint Backlog page, next to the Sprint Interval. The Sprint Goal helps you focus on what’s important for the current iteration. The Sprint Goal is a short description of what a team wants to achieve during a Sprint. You’ll see the ‘Set Sprint Goal’ button. This button opens the ‘Edit Sprint’ modal where you can write down your Sprint goal in the provided place. Sprint goal can be edited during the Sprint. The Edit Sprint modal can also be opened by clicking on the Sprint Interval.
In the ‘Edit Sprint’ modal, you can edit the Sprint name, change the start and the end date of the Sprint and enter, edit or remove the Sprint Goal as previously mentioned. You can also access the ‘Edit Sprint’ modal by clicking the button in the upper left corner, next to the sidebar. Next to the Sprint name, there is a drop-down menu, which opens two options: ‘Edit Sprint’ and ‘Finish Sprint’. The duration of a Sprint can be seen in the separate button, as well as how many days are left until the Sprint ends.
The Scrum Sprint Backlog page contains three default columns: To Do, In Progress and Done. You can add as many columns as you want by clicking on the + icon after the last column. All columns can be renamed by clicking on the column title and confirming the change.
Each column has its own drop-down mini-menu in the upper right corner. From that menu you can:
- Sort by Due Date
- Delete Column
- Insert predefined items
- Mark as Done
- Export Column
- Set column limit
If you choose to delete a column that has items in it, make sure that you choose a new column for the items that are currently in the one you are deleting. If you don’t do this, you will permanently delete that column from all existing and future Sprint Backlogs.
You can mark a column as done so that every item you move to that column gets automatically marked as done. A ‘Done Column’ is used for storing finished items (the ones that comply with your Definition of Done). At least one column in the Scrum Sprint Backlog must be specified as a ‘Done column’. By default, it is the ‘Done’ column (one of the three default columns). You can have several columns marked as done. The number of items marked as done and their details such as points and values will be used for creating Burndown charts and Sprint Reports. At the end of a Sprint, all the items that are not in a column that is marked as done will be considered not finished and therefore returned to the Product Backlog.
If you choose the ‘Export Column’ option, you can define what you would like to be exported: Column items or Users’ work log. You also need to pick a format for exported files (CSV or JSON file).
Limit the number of Items in a Column
The limit can be set for all columns that are not marked as "Done". It will prevent you to exceed the maximum allowed number of Items in the column. This feature can be found in the drop-down menu of a column. If you use Kanban, you might know this feature as Work In Progress limit (WIP limit).
If you want to find something quickly, both the ‘Search’ and the ‘Filter’ are available for the Sprint Backlog.
You can finish a Scrum Sprint from the Product Backlog or from the Sprint Backlog.
The ‘Finish Sprint’ button in the Sprint Backlog is in the drop-down menu when you click on the drop-down menu next to the Sprint name.
After confirming the completion of a Sprint, all your unfinished Items will be moved to the newly created column in the Product Backlog - ‘Sprint # - not finished items’.
Reports for finished Sprints are available from the Product Backlog; just click on the drop-down menu of a Sprint column.